UNINTERRUPTED FLOW URBAN GREENING ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY HARBOUR PROTECTION SPACIOUS VIBRANCY CONNECTION

FAQ


Question 1

What is the Central - Wan Chai Bypass and Island Eastern Corridor Link (CWB)?



The CWB is a new strategic trunk road running along the northern shore of Hong Kong Island. It will be a 4.5 km long dual three lane trunk road consisting of a length of 3.7 km tunnel from Central Rumsey Street Flyover, extending to the vicinity of City Garden at North Point, and finally connecting to the Island Eastern Corridor. 

Upon completion of the CWB, it will only take about 5 minutes to travel between Central and Island Eastern Corridor at North Point. Linkage between the east of Hong Kong Island and other districts in the North-west of New Territories such as Tuen Mun or Hong Kong International Airport, will be more direct without passing through the busy districts of Causeway Bay, Wan Chai and Central. 

The CWB will link up the reclamation area of Central and Wan Chai, running through the sea-bed of Causeway Bay Typhoon Shelter (CBTS). The proposed scheme of the CWB is widely supported by the public, as the tunnel option can facilitate the harbour front enhancement programme and allow the public to enjoy the valuable waterfront area. 

Construction works of the CWB commenced in end 2009.

Question 2

Why we need the CWB?



The existing Connaught Road Central/ Harcourt Road/ Gloucester Road corridor is heavily trafficked, the traffic congestion not only occurs in peak hours, but also in most of the time. Any traffic accident on the corridor will result in rapid deterioration of traffic conditions and even complete blockage of roads.
Traffic from the northern shore of Hong Kong Island currently must use the above corridor, the CWB can thus divert the traffic from the commercial centre. The CWB will serve to relieve the existing traffic congestion and to cater for the anticipated traffic growth upon its commissioning.

Question 3

Will there be traffic congestion during the construction of the CWB?



Construction traffic impact assessment (CTIA) study has been carried out during the detailed design stage. During the construction period, apart from compliance with recommendations in the CTIA, the contractors will also be required to submit the proposed temporary traffic diversions to the relevant authorities (including Transport Department and Hong Kong Police Force) for approval before implementation, and for major ones, to consult district councils as well for support.

Question 4

What will be the temporary traffic diversion in the Island Eastern Corridor during the construction period of the project?



In order to give room for the tunnel construction and to merge with the tunnel alignment, the existing Island Eastern Corridor (from Hing Fat Street to Provident Centre) will be demolished and reconstructed in stages. The existing traffic capacity of Island Eastern Corridor will be maintained as far as practicable. Traffic during construction will be diverted in stages using new or temporary bridges, which will be provided along with appropriate traffic signs to notify road drivers.

The reconstruction of the above section of the existing Island Eastern Corridor was commenced by end 2012 and would be continued till the CWB’s commissioning.

Question 5

What will be the temporary traffic diversion in Central during the construction period of the project?



Construction works at Central mainly consist of the construction of tunnel, portal, approach road and slip roads from Rumsey Street Flyover to west of Man Yiu Street. To meet project needs, Man Po Street, Man Yiu Street and Financial Street will be diverted in phases. Vehicular access to/from IFCII, MTR Hong Kong Station, IFC arcades and the Four Seasons Hotel will be maintained during the construction period, along with temporary signs to notify motorists. The works commenced in Sept 2010 for completion in mid 2016. Moreover, the layout of the existing bus terminus to the west of Man Yiu Street has been modified to spare temporary works area (about 15m width) at its south end necessary for construction of the CWB tunnel structure.

Question 6

What will be the environmental impacts brought about by the CWB Project and whether appropriate environmental mitigation measures will be implemented?



Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) under the "Environmental Impact Assessment Ordinance" was carried out and submitted to the Director of Environmental Protection on 31 October 2007. Environmental Advisory Committee conditionally endorsed the EIA Report on 14 February 2008. The EIA Report was approved by Director of Environmental Protection under the EIA Ordinance on 11 December 2008. A detailed assessment of the Project including the temporary reclamation has been shown on the report, including the environmental impact of air quality, noise, water quality, waste management, land contamination and so on. The Report concluded that, with implementation of the recommended mitigation measures in the course of construction and operation stages, the environmental impacts due to the construction works will be acceptable. Mitigation measures including the use of low-noise devices, mobile / temporary noise barriers to reduce the construction noise impact, dust-reducing measures under "Air Pollution Control (Construction Dust) Regulation", installation of silt screens and silt curtains in appropriate dredging area and selected seawater intake, and so on.

Question 7

What will be the design of the noise barrier? What will be the green measures to improve the landscape?



There are noise barriers in forms of vertical barriers and cantilevered barriers. There are also noise semi-enclosures with arched top. Vertical greening will be installed at the bottom of the vertical face of noise barriers / semi-enclosures, shrubs / evergreen plants will also be planted outside the noise barriers / semi-enclosures to improve the landscape. Roof greening with skylight will also be provided for the part of the noise semi-enclosures east of the landscape deck. We understand the community concern about the appearance of noise barriers. 

We have made reference to the design concept of the winning entries of the international open design competition of noise barriers / enclosures conducted in January 2009 into the noise barriers / semi-enclosures design in the CWB Project. Public consultations were conducted between 2011 and 2012 to collect views from the public. The project team has also consulted the Harbourfront Commission, Eastern District Council as well as nearby residents and business operators regarding the detailed aesthetic design.

Question 8

Whether there will be access to the CWB except the tunnel portals?



Four slip roads will be constructed under the CWB project. The motorists can enter / exit the CWB through the three slip roads located near Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre or enter the westbound of the CWB by Slip Road 8 near Tsing Fung Street.

Question 9

Will there be toll for passing through the CWB tunnel?



No. The CWB tunnel is free for public use. 

back to top
UNINTERRUPTED FLOW URBAN GREENING ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY HARBOUR PROTECTION SPACIOUS VIBRANCY CONNECTION

Share |

You can subscribe to CWB eNews.


CAPTCHA Image Reload Image

   
Graphics represent an artist’s impression of the works
concerned only. They are not drawn to scale and have
been edited and processed with computerized
imaging techniques.

2013 © All rights reserved. Highways Department

Last review date:06 Dec 2018

暢通無阻 都會綠化 優化環境 保育海港 善用空間 城市動力連繫社區

常見問題


問題 1

什麼是中環灣仔繞道和東區走廊連接路(簡稱繞道)?



中環灣仔繞道是港島北岸新的策略性主幹路。計劃中的繞道長4.5公里,屬雙程三線分隔行車主幹路,包括長3.7公里的隧道,由中環林士街行車天橋起,伸延至北角城市花園附近,最後與東區走廊連接。 

繞道落成後,從中環駕車往來北角東區走廊只需約5分鐘,港島東往來新界西北面各區的交通(如屯門或香港國際機場),將變得更為直接暢順,而無需經過銅鑼灣、灣仔和中環等繁忙地區。 

繞道的隧道將橫貫中環和灣仔填海範圍,並穿過銅鑼灣避風塘海床以下。繞道主要以隧道形式興建,以期盡量把海濱一帶珍貴的土地留給市民享用。市民普遍支持採用隧道的方案,因這方案既可納入擬議的海濱優化概念,亦可配合繞道的運作需要。 

繞道的建造工程已在2009年年底動工。

問題 2

為何需要興建繞道?



目前,干諾道中╱夏愨道╱告士打道走廊沿路的交通,不單在繁忙時間,更在每日大部份時間出現交通擠塞,當走廊發生交通意外的時候,交通陷於停頓的情況甚為常見。
港島北岸的東西行車輛目前必須使用上述走廊。興建繞道疏導途經走廊的東西行車輛至商業中心區以外,以紓緩走廊和區內現有道路網的擠塞情況,亦可容納預期的交通增長。

問題 3

工程進行時會否導致交通擠塞?



我們在詳細設計階段,已進行施工期間的交通影響評估研究(CTIA)。在工程進行中,承建商不但要遵從交通影響評估研究的建議,亦需要將建議的臨時交通改道安排,在實施前提交有關部門(運輸署及警務處)審批,倘若是對主要道路實施臨時交通改道,承建商亦需要諮詢區議會。

問題 4

施工期間,在東區走廊將有甚麼臨時交通改道措施?



為提供足夠空間以興建隧道並連接東區走廊,現有東區走廊(由興發街至和富中心)需要分階段拆卸及重新建造。臨時交通措施會在可行情況下維持現時東區走廊現有的容車量。施工期間東西行車輛會分階段改道,使用新造或臨時建造之橋樑,沿途將會提供適當交通標誌指示提醒駕駛人士。重建工程已於2012年底開始,直至繞道通車。

問題 5

施工期間,在中環將有甚麼臨時交通改道措施?



中環區工程主要包括在民寶街和民耀街一帶建造繞道之西面隧道口區,以及連接中環林士街天橋及民耀街之支路。為配合工程需要,民寶街、民耀街及金融街會分階段改道。施工期間國金二期、港鐵香港站、國金商場和四季酒店之車輛進出口將會維持開放,沿途也會提供臨時指示牌提醒駕駛人仕。工程由2010年9月開始,直至2016年完成。而民耀街以西現有的巴士總站亦已調整,以在其南面盡頭騰出臨時後備工作間,作為興建隧道之用。

問題 6

工程對環境造成什麼影響?有否實施合適的緩解措施?



本工程根據《環境影響評估條例》進行環境影響評估,並在2007年10月31日向環境保護署署長呈交環境影響評估報告(簡稱報告)。環境諮詢委員會在2008年2月14日附有條件地支持報告。報告於2008年12月11日獲環境保護署署長根據環評條例審批。報告就本工程包括臨時填海的環境影響都作出詳細評估,當中包括空氣質素、噪音、水質、廢物管理、土地污染等。報告的結論是,若在施工和運作階段實施建議的緩解措施後,工程仍對環境造成影響是可以接受的。緩解措施包括使用低噪音設備和流動/臨時隔音屏障來減少建造噪音的影響,採用《空氣污染管制(建造工程塵埃)規例》所規定的減少塵埃措施,在適當的挖泥區選定的海水進水口裝設隔泥幕和隔泥網等。

問題 7

隔音屏障的設計將會如何?會有甚麼的綠化措施,改善景觀?



隔音屏障將會分為垂直式屏障、懸臂式屏障以及半開放式頂部呈拱形的屏罩。隔音屏障/隔音罩之垂直面的底部則會安裝垂直綠化面板,而在隔音屏障/隔音罩外邊亦會種植灌木/常綠植物,以綠化新建隔音屏障/隔音罩及改善景觀。於栽種平台以東的半開放式屏罩頂部亦會進行綠化,同時亦會採納自然光照明。 
我們了解社會對隔音屏障外觀的關注。就此,我們於2009年1月推出一項隔音屏障/隔音罩國際公開概念設計比賽。我們參照優勝作品的概念,融入工程計劃的隔音屏障/蓋罩的設計中。2011年和2012年期間,我們舉辦一連串的公眾諮詢活動,蒐集民意。工程團隊亦就隔音屏障的詳細設計諮詢海濱事務委員會、東區區議會,以及附近的居民及商戶。

問題 8

繞道中段有否出入口?



繞道將建有四條連接路,駕駛者可使用香港灣仔會議展覽中心附近的三條連接路進出繞道,或經八號連接路從清風街進入繞道向西行。

問題 9

繞道需要收費嗎?



不需要。繞道是免費給公眾使用。

back to top
暢通無阻 都會綠化 優化環境 保育海港 善用空間 城市動力連繫社區

分享 |

你可訂閱繞道電子通訊。


CAPTCHA Image Reload Image

   
圖像純屬畫家對有關工程之想像,
而非按照比例繪畫並經過電腦修飾處理。

版權所有 不得轉載. 香港特別行政區政府路政署

覆檢日期:2019年09月17日