UNINTERRUPTED FLOW URBAN GREENING ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY HARBOUR PROTECTION SPACIOUS VIBRANCY CONNECTION

Project Benefits


The CWB Project can bring the following benefits to the public:

  1. Enchance Transport Network
    Upon commissioning, CWB reduces the traffic time between Central and IEC to 5 minutes, making the linkage between the east of Hong Kong Island and other districts in the western side of the territory more smooth and direct.
  2. Protect the Environment
    Mitigate traffic noise nuisance: Noise barriers and noise semi-enclosures will be erected at North Point section of IEC. Traffic noise at the nearby households could be effectively reduced by around 16dB in average and 25.6 dB at maximum.

    Improve air quality: Diverts existing at-grade traffic to underground to improve the air quality of surrounding areas. In addition, by shortening the travelling time, the annual emission of CO2 could be reduced by around 11 000 tonnes, equivalent to that absorbed by 480 000 new trees per year (covering an area of over 67 numbers of Victoria Park). Together with the first Air Purification System adopted in Hong Kong road tunnels which could effectively remove 80% of respirable suspended particulates (RSP) and nitrogen dioxide (NO2), the air quality would be improved.

    Beautify urban environment with greening elements: Tunnel buildings with greening elements will be erected. The roof of the East Tunnel Portal will be developed into a landscaped deck. Large number of vegetation will be planted along CWB providing a total of 4.5 hectares greening area to beautify the urban environment.
  3. Facilitate Urban Development
    Reserve at grade open space and develop a new waterfront promenade: 80% of the CWB is constructed in the tunnel form, thereby reserving the at grade open space for other form of development. Additional land was also formed which allowed the future development of a waterfront promenade.

back to top
UNINTERRUPTED FLOW URBAN GREENING ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY HARBOUR PROTECTION SPACIOUS VIBRANCY CONNECTION

Share |

You can subscribe to CWB eNews.


CAPTCHA Image Reload Image

   
Graphics represent an artist’s impression of the works
concerned only. They are not drawn to scale and have
been edited and processed with computerized
imaging techniques.

2013 © All rights reserved. Highways Department

Last review date:28 Jul 2020

暢通無阻 都會綠化 優化環境 保育海港 善用空間 城市動力連繫社區

項目效益


繞道工程將給公衆帶來以下效益:

  1. 完善交通網絡
    繞道通車後,來往中環及北角東區走廊的交通時間縮短至5約分鐘,使港島東西各區往來的交通變得更直接暢順。
  2. 保護環境
    紓緩噪音影響,減少滋擾:繞道於東廊近北角路段豎設隔音屏障及半密閉式隔音罩,可減低附近居民所承受的交通噪音平均約16分貝,而最高達25.6分貝;

    改善空氣質素:繞道將路面的交通分流至地底,從而改善周邊地區的空氣質素。另外,繞道亦可減省總行車時間,有助每年減少約11 000 噸的二氧化碳排放,相當於約48萬棵新種樹木(可覆蓋約67個維園的面積)。再配合首次於香港行車隧道使用的空氣淨化系統,有效減少80%的可吸入懸浮粒子及二氧化氮,改善周邊地區的空氣質素;

    綠色元素,美化市區:繞道將豎設具綠化元素的隧道建築物,並於東面隧道出入口上蓋建造園景平台。繞道沿途亦會廣植林木,以提供合共約4.5公頃的綠化地帶以美化市區。
  3. 促進城市發展
    保留地面空間,建設新海濱:繞道有約8成以上採用隧道形式興建,保留地面空間作其他發展用途,並提供額外土地,供日後發展海濱長廊,讓市民享受閒暇。

back to top
暢通無阻 都會綠化 優化環境 保育海港 善用空間 城市動力連繫社區

分享 |

你可訂閱繞道電子通訊。


CAPTCHA Image Reload Image

   
圖像純屬畫家對有關工程之想像,
而非按照比例繪畫並經過電腦修飾處理。

版權所有 不得轉載. 香港特別行政區政府路政署

覆檢日期:2020年07月28日