UNINTERRUPTED FLOW URBAN GREENING ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY HARBOUR PROTECTION SPACIOUS VIBRANCY CONNECTION

Project Features

Project Challenges

I. Challenge – Passed through traffic arteries by Mined Tunnel

Cross Harbour Tunnel (“CHT”) is the busiest road tunnel in Hong Kong, with daily traffic flow up to about 115 000 number on average. The CWB project needed to construct a mined tunnel of approximately 160m long, 50m wide within the rock stratum 20m underneath the CHT. To safeguard the continual operation of the CHT at the same time proceeding with the tunnelling works satisfactorily was regarded as one of the most challenging parts of the CWB project.

Having analysed the implications of different excavation methods to the surrounding, the “Drill-and-Break” technique which would generate the least vibration was adopted for the construction of the mined tunnel. A series of precautionary and contingency measures including the installation of automatic deformation monitoring system (ADMS), additional steel weights, standby dewatering system, etc. were also implemented to ensure the integrity of CHT during construction.

Around 820 000 m3 of rock were excavated for the construction of the mined tunnel. The average uniaxial compressive strength of the rock reached 119MPa, which is about 4 times the strength of concrete. These hard rock caused a higher-than-expected wear and tear on the construction plants. To tackle this problem, the project team adjusted and deployed a variety of machineries and employed experienced frontline staff to optimise the excavation procedure. During the peak, there were 6 workfronts with over 30 machineries in different varieties and 90 technicians deployed for the construction of mined tunnel, achieving an excavation rate of 500 m3 of rock per day. With the efforts made by all sides, the Mined Tunnel was successfully breakthrough in October of 2014. Throughout the construction period of the mined tunnel, the ADMS readings were stable and within safe zone, which indicated that no adverse impact on the CHT portal structure was made by the works.

The works of mined tunnel underneath CHT was widely recognized by both local and worldwide engineering discipline. The project team was invited to attend different conference and publish articles in academic journals to share their experience. The works was also highly regarded and won numerous awards including the “Tunnelling Project of the Year 2016 (Over US$500M)” of the New Civil Engineer (Journal of Institution of Civil Engineer, United Kingdom) and “Major Project of the Year 2016 – Certificate of Appreciation” by International Tunnelling and Underground Space Association.

Mined Tunnel
Excavation works
New Civil Engineer – Tunnelling Project of the Year 2016 (Over US$500M)
II. Challenge – Construct tunnel under the sea without permanent reclamation

Victoria Harbour is one of the most precious resources of Hong Kong. To preserve the appearance of Victoria Harbour, CWB adopted the “Cut-and-Cover” method coupled with temporary reclamation for tunnel construction in Ex-Wan Chai Public Cargo Working Area and Causeway Bay Typhoon Shelter. By doing so, the temporary reclaimed land could be removed upon completion of the tunnel and the seabed and original appearance of the harbour could be restored. The procedures of temporary reclamation are outlined below:

  1. Remove marine deposits at seabed such that the seawall blocks could be secured in place
  2. Install seawall blocks along the perimeter of the proposed temporary reclamation area
  3. Fill soil to form a temporary working platform
  4. Install diaphragm walls to provide support during deep excavation and tunnel construction (majority of the diaphragm walls were used as side walls of the permanent structure)
  5. Excavate soil inside the diaphragm wall progressively to designated depth with lateral supports installed by layers
  6. Upon completion of excavation, construct tunnel structures in a bottom-up order (from base slabs, side walls, middle walls to roof slabs)
  7. Backfill the space above the tunnel to the original seabed level and remove the temporary features above the seabed upon completion of the tunnel section


Temporary reclamation was implemented in phases with a view to reducing the occupied area of sea and providing sufficient berthing spaces for 500 vessels inside typhoon shelter, thus maintaining their daily operation.

The CWB project removed approximately 640 000 cubic metres of marine sediments within CBTS and hence improved the water quality.

Step 1
Step 2 and 3
Step 4 and 5
Step 6
CBTS during temporary reclamation
CBTS upon reinstatement
III. Challenge – Construction works at Island Eastern Corridor Link next to busy traffic

Some sections of the Island Eastern Corridor need to be modified to connect and provide space for constructing the eastern tunnel portal of CWB. Since the construction works was carried out in parallel with the busy traffic, the need to proceed with the construction works while minimising the disruption to road users become a challenge to the project team.

In view of this, modification works of relevant section of IEC was carried out in stages with appropriate temporary traffic arrangements implemented at the same time. The sequence of modification works is outlined below:

  1. Construct the new eastbound bridge
  2. Divert the eastbound traffic to the new bridge and divert the westbound traffic to the original eastbound bridge
  3. Demolish and reconstruct the westbound bridge in situ
  4. Divert the westbound traffic to the new westbound bridge upon completion of new westbound bridge
  5. Demolish the original eastbound bridge and construct the east tunnel portal of CWB


Moreover, in view of the limited space for bridge construction, balanced cantilever method was adopted to construct the new bridge. Launching girder was maneuvered to attach the precast bridge segments to both sides of the pier segment one by one until a continuous bridge deck was formed. The project team used 650 precast concrete segments, with each weighed 120 tonnes in average, to construct the new eastbound bridge. The whole modifications of IEC took two years to complete.

Bridge segment erection
Bridge segment
Launching girder
Original IEC
Existing IEC
back to top
UNINTERRUPTED FLOW URBAN GREENING ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY HARBOUR PROTECTION SPACIOUS VIBRANCY CONNECTION

Share |

You can subscribe to CWB eNews.


CAPTCHA Image Reload Image

   
Graphics represent an artist’s impression of the works
concerned only. They are not drawn to scale and have
been edited and processed with computerized
imaging techniques.

2013 © All rights reserved. Highways Department

Last review date:06 Dec 2018

畅通无阻 都会绿化 优化环境 保育海港 善用空间 城市动力连系社区

项目特点

项目挑战

I. 挑战—穿越交通要道的暗挖隧道

红磡海底隧道(下称「红隧」)是香港最繁忙的行车隧道,每日车流量平均达11.5万架次。绕道要在红隧下方约20米深的石层,建造约160米长,50米阔的暗挖隧道。要在维持红隧正常运作的情况下顺利进行工程是项目中最具挑战性的其中一环。

在衡量各种挖掘技术对周边环境的影响后,绕道采用了建造时产生最少震动的「钻挖及打破」技术进行挖掘,并配合一系列的预防及应变措施,包括安装自动监测变形系统及仪器,加装钢码及设置备用抽水系统等,以确保红隧不受工程影响。

暗挖隧道需要挖掘约82万立方米的岩石,岩石平均单轴抗压强度达119MPa(兆帕),较一般混凝土坚硬4倍,属于非常坚硬的类别,因此挖掘机械的损耗比预期严重。为了克服这项困难,工程团队透过调较及应用不同的挖掘机械,并且聘用经验丰富的前线技术人员,以不断优化挖掘程序。高峰时期,有多达30部不同种类的机械及每日90名技术人员于6个施工点同时建造隧道,并达到每日挖掘约500立方米岩石的成绩。最终在各方的努力下,暗挖隧道于2014年10月顺利贯通。而于建造绕道期间,监测仪器录得的读数稳定并处于安全范围内,显示工程对红隧出入口的结构并无影响。

此段隧道工程在本地及国际的工程界中均备受肯定,曾获邀于不同学术会议及学术期刊上分享经验。工程亦屡获殊荣,当中包括于英国土木工程师学会期刋(新土木工程师) )主办的世界性颁奖礼上勇夺2016年隧道工程年度大奖(五亿美元以上工程合约组别),并获国际隧道及地下空间协会颁发2016年年度主要工程嘉许奖状。<

暗挖隧道
挖掘工程
英国土木工程师学会期刊-2016年隧道工程年度大奖(五亿美元以上工程合约组别)
II. 挑战-无需永久填海的海底隧道

维多利亚港是香港的宝贵资源,为保留海港的原貌,绕道于前湾仔公众货物装卸区及铜锣湾避风塘采用了临时填海配合「明挖回填」的方式建造隧道,以便在隧道完成后,移除临时填海形成的土地以回复海港的原貌。临时填海的步骤如下:

  1. 浚挖淤泥,以确保海堤组件能平稳地放置于海床上
  2. 沿拟建的临时填海范围的边界安装海堤组件
  3. 于海堤组件围封的范围内填土,以建成临时工作平台
  4. 建造垂直隔墙,以作为深层挖掘及建造隧道时的临时支撑(大部分垂直隔墙会被用作隧道侧墙的永久结构)
  5. 分层挖掘隔墙内的泥土至指定的深度,并逐步安装横向支架
  6. 完成挖掘后由下以上(即隧道底部,侧墙,中墙及顶部)依序建造隧道结构
  7. 当每段隧道工程完成后,隧道以上的空间会回填至海床原有水平,而海床以上的临时建筑物料会一一移除


临时填海以分阶段的方式进行,除可以减少占用海面的范围,亦可为避风塘内约500艘船舶提供所需的系泊空间,维持日常运作。

绕道项目于避风塘内移除了约64万立方米的淤泥,改善了避风塘内的水质。

步骤一
步骤二和三
步骤四和五
步骤六
临时填海期间的铜锣湾避风塘
回复原貌的铜锣湾避风塘
III. 挑战-与繁忙交通并肩进行的东区走廊连接路工程

绕道需要改动东区走廊(下称「东廊」)的部分路段,以连接及腾出空间兴建隧道东面出入口。由于工程需要与东廊上的繁忙交通并肩进行,如何在推展工程的同时,将对驾驶者的干扰减至最低成为了工程团队的一大挑战。

有见及此,工程团队以分阶段的方式改建东廊的相关部分并配合合适的临时交通措施以进行工程。工程的施工次序如下:

  1. 兴建新东行桥
  2. 分流东行交通至新桥,西行交通则分流至旧东行桥
  3. 于原位拆卸及重建西行桥
  4. 完成重建新西行桥后,把西行交通拨回新西行桥
  5. 拆卸旧东行桥,并兴建隧道东面出入口


另外,由于兴建新桥的工地狭窄,我们采用了平衡悬臂式方法兴建新桥,以灵活的吊梁装置,在桥趸组件的两边逐一装嵌预制的桥面组件,直至组成一个连续的桥面。兴建新东行桥时,工程团队使用了650件,每件平均重量约120吨的混凝土预制组件。东廊的整项改动工程历时约两年完成。

装嵌桥面组件
桥面组件
吊梁装置
原来的东区走廊
现时的东区走廊
back to top
畅通无阻 都会绿化 优化环境 保育海港 善用空间 城市动力连系社区

分享 |

你可订阅绕道电子通讯。


CAPTCHA Image Reload Image

   
图像纯属画家对有关工程之想像,
而非按照比例绘画并经过电脑修饰处理。

版权所有不得转载。香港特别行政区政府路政署

覆检日期:2019年10月21日